NCBVI Staff

NCBVI Executive Director

Carlos Servan

Carlos R. Serván was born in Lima, Peru. When he was 20 years old, he was blinded and lost his right hand in an explosion while training with the Peruvian police.  He immigrated to the U.S. in 1989 to receive training on blindness techniques and soon after found his passion in serving people with disabilities. He had to learn English and then he earned a bachelor in Political science and later a dual graduate obtaining a M.P.A. and a J.D. His disability, together with his immigrant and minority status, have given Mr. Serván a deep, personal understanding of the challenges facing children and adults with disabilities, especially those from minority backgrounds.  He knows what it is to be disadvantaged; to face discrimination, and he knows what it takes to succeed. 

From 2017-present, Mr. Serván has been the Executive Director of the Nebraska Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired. His work was recognized by the National Rehabilitation Association with its “E.B. Witten Silver Medallion Award” in October, 2020 for demonstrated leadership in improving the lives of people with disabilities.  

From 1998-2017 Mr. Servan was the Deputy Director for Services for the Nebraska Commission for the Blind. His work was recognized with the Manager of the Year award by Governor Mike Johanns in 1999 and again by Governor David Heinemann in 2011. 

Before coming to work in Nebraska, from 1992-1998, Mr. Serván coordinated transition from school to work programs in New Mexico. He developed a model of training and work experience for blind youth, including those with multiple disabilities and minority backgrounds, based on a model of high expectations.  The program he developed became nationally recognized as a model for other transition training programs across the country. The program demonstrated that early intervention by vocational rehabilitation in coordination with the public school system increases the chances for integrated high-quality employment for blind youth.

Some of Mr. Serván’s leadership positions are: 1995-1996 served as President of the National Association of Blind Students, in 2000-2003 President of the National Federation of the Blind of Nebraska, from 2000-2003 member of the Board of Directors of the National Federation of the Blind, 2000-2010 City of Lincoln Diversity Committee, 2002-2006 President of the National Association of Blind Rehabilitation Professionals, 2008-2016 member of the Board of Directors of Disability Rights Nebraska, and from 2018-present member of the Executive Committee of the National Council of State Agencies for the Blind.

Carlos Servan headshot

 

NCBVI Staff Directory

NCBVI Administration

Located on the First Floor, West end of the NCBVI Lincoln Building

 

Email

Phone Number

Carlos Serván, Executive Director

carlos.servan@nebraska.gov

402-471-8104 (office) 402-326-3454 (cell)

Erin Brandyberry, Deputy Director of Services

erin.brandyberry@nebraska.gov

308-293-7662

Tammie Dunn, Deputy Director of Finance

tammie.dunn@nebraska.gov

402-314-2871

Kathy Stephens, Admin. Specialist

kathy.stephens@nebraska.gov

402-471-8101

Julie Buren, Admin. Programs Officer II

julie.buren@nebraska.gov

402-450-0193

Hugh Phan, Technology Manager hugh.phan@nebraska.gov 531-310-2121

Vanessa Kunz, Accountant I

vanessa.kunz@nebraska.gov

531-739-9064

Brandy Harper, Accountant II

brandy.harper@nebraska.gov

531-500-4733

Suzette Casillas, Accountant I

suzette.casillas@nebraska.gov

402-471-2891

 

Nebraska Business Enterprise (NBE)

Located on First Floor of the NCBVI Building.

Eric Buckwalter, NBE Supervisor

eric.buckwalter@nebraska.gov

402-450-6526

Jeff Scheer, NBE VR Counselor

jeffry.scheer@nebraska.gov

402-429-1590
Lizzie Heidenreich, NBE Orientation Counselor lizzie.heidenreich@nebraska.gov 402-992-0325

 

Nebraska Center for the Blind

Located on First Floor, East end of the NCBVI Lincoln Building

Jessica Bartenbach, Center Supervisor

jessica.bartenbach@nebraska.gov

402-219-3739

Jeff Altman, Travel Instructor

jeff.altman@nebraska.gov

402-471-8119

Sara Vrana, Travel Instructor sarah.vrana@nebraska.gov 402-405-4019

Nancy Coffman, Communications Inst

nancy.coffman@nebraska.gov

402-471-8121

Ted Haubrich, Shop Instructor

theodore.haubrich@nebraska.gov

402-471-8122

Shane Buresh, Braille Instructor

shane.buresh@nebraska.gov

402-471-8125

Mark Coleman, Client Resource Counselor

mark.coleman@nebraska.gov

402-290-6461

Hannah Dakan, Home Management Instructor

hannah.dakan@nebraska.gov

402-890-7319

 

Lincoln District - Lincoln Office

Located on the First Floor of the NCBVI Building.

Pam Rademacher, Lincoln District Supervisor

pam.rademacher@nebraska.gov

402-718-1164

Connie Daly, Orientation Counselor II connie.m.daly@nebraska.gov 402-416-5298

Charli Saltzman, Orientation Counselor II

charli.saltzman@nebraska.gov

402-560-4649

Charles Andersen, Technology Specialist

charles.andersen@nebraska.gov

402-657-8978

Amy Buresh, VR Counselor II

amy.buresh@nebraska.gov

402-309-5529

Kaytlyn Hilligas, VR Counselor II

Kaytlyn.Hilligas@nebraska.gov

531-249-1122

 

 

Lincoln District - Norfolk

Kathy Navrkal, Orientation Counselor II

kathy.navrkal@nebraska.gov 

402-440-2005

Graciela Swim, VR Counselor II

graciela.swim@nebraska.gov 

402-419-6042

 

Omaha District – Omaha Office

Omaha State Office Building

1313 Farnam Street, Suite 316

Omaha, NE  68102-1881

 
Timothy Jefferson, Omaha District Supervisor timothy.jefferson@nebraska.gov 308-627-8949

Mickie Saltzman, Technology Specialist

mickie.saltzman@nebraska.gov

402-699-6729

Craig Kneifl, VR Counselor II

craig.kneifl@nebraska.gov

402-657-9021

Kelly Coleman, Orientation Counselor II

kelly.coleman@nebraska.gov

402-657-8786

Alexander France, Orientation Counselor II

alexander.france@nebraska.gov

531-301-9686

Candice Dollar, VR Counselor II

candice.dollar@nebraska.gov

402-405-1261

Vacant, VR Counselor II

 

 

 

North Platte District – Western Nebraska

Cristal Dimas, North Platte District Supervisor

cristal.dimas@nebraska.gov

308-991-8087

Vacant, Orientation Counselor II

@nebraska.gov

308-660-6801

Grace Garza, VR Counselor II

grace.garza@nebraska.gov

531-739-8068

Kimberly Scherbarth, VR Counselor II

kimberly.scherbarth@nebraska.gov

308-293-3025

Josh Golden, Technology Specialist

josh.golden@nebraska.gov

402-853-3425

Angie Hoff, VR Counselor II, OIB Program Manager

angie.hoff@nebraska.gov

308-641-5306